Originally, Woburn Abbey was given by Edward VI to the Russel family in 1547. Since then, a group of leading architects such as Henry Flitcroft, Henry Holland and Sir Jeffry Wyatville, have develop the house into the historic landmark it is today.
Beaming with rich history, today Wobrun Abbey is managed by the Duke and Duchess of Bedford who are both making their own impact on this fascinating patrimonial build. Over the past few years, the Abbey has undergone extensive amount of restoration to areas such as its gardens which have been designed to recreate Humphry Repton’s original design from over 200 years ago.
The Woburn Abbey had an abundance of rotten timbers where oak beams had been attacked by deathwatch beetle, which are known for inhabiting dead wood.
This was, of course, in dire need of restoration given that rotten timber significantly affects the integrity of a building and holds the potential to cause structural damage which may eventually become a health hazard.